Mountain gorilla facts

The word gorilla is derived from the Greek meaning “wild man”, the mountain gorilla (Gorilla beringei beringei) is one of two subspecies of the eastern gorilla (Gorilla beringei) named after captain von beringei. The world populations of mountain gorillas total about 1004 as of 2018 census, half of them live in Uganda and they are listed as endangered on the IUCN red list. The mountain gorilla population is spread across Uganda’s Bwindi Impenetrable National Park and the other in the Virunga Mountains in three adjacent national parks, namely Mgahinga Gorilla National Park, Rwanda’s Volcanoes National Park, and Virunga National Park in the Democratic Republic of Congo

Males mountain gorillas weigh about 195 kg (430 lb.) upright standing height of 168 cm (66 in) usually weigh twice as much as the females, at a mean of 100 kg (220 lb.) and a height of 140 cm (55 in).[8] This subspecies is smaller than the eastern lowland gorilla, the other subspecies of the eastern gorilla.

Adult males are called silverbacks because a saddle of gray or silver-colored hair develops on their backs with age. The mountain gorilla is primarily terrestrial and quadruped. However, it will climb into fruiting trees if the branches can carry their weight, they spend most of their time feeding and occasionally resting in the afternoon. Adult males can eat up to 34 kilograms (75 lb.) of vegetation a day, while a female can eat as much as 18 kilograms (40 lb.).

Mountain gorilla habitat

mountain gorilla factsThere are about 11 habituated mountain gorillas families in Uganda, these families comprise of a group of 7-20 members and these include;

  • Nyakagezi family
  • Kayungye family
  • Bweza family
  • Nshongi family
  • The Nkuringo Family
  • The Rushegura Family
  • The Bitukara Family
  • The Oruzogo Family
  • The Habinyanja Family
  • The Mubare Family